Skip to main content
Topic: Cat starter - remove and re-install (Read 11402 times) previous topic - next topic

Cat starter - remove and re-install

Yahoo Message Number: 65418
I need to take the starter off my C15 and take it to a re-build shop. I worked on it a couple of hours today, and got the wiring disconnected. This was after I an electrical check. My ammeter was showing nearly 40 amps through the selenoid, and nothing through the stater. Last time I started it, a couple of hammer blows knocked it loose.
Problem is, I pried on one of the bolts that holds the starter to the engine, but couldn't get it to budge. No room for a cheater pipe. Since I didn't get a return call from the local mobile RV/Cat mechanic, I went and bought an impact wrench this evening. Assuming that I can get the starter off with the impact wrench, I'm concerned about how to tighten the bolts when I put it back on.
I'm not a mechanic, but I like to tinker. I don't have any experience with impact wrenches, so I am concerned that if I power the bolts back on, that I would risk over tightening and maybe breaking one or more of them.
Can one of the former Cat engineers on the forum give me some idea of much to tighten the starter bolts when I re-install? All I could find via Google are head specs for head bolts.

Re: Cat starter - remove and re-install

Reply #2
Yahoo Message Number: 65459