Skip to main content
Topic: Diesel in Oil (Read 1582 times) previous topic - next topic

Diesel in Oil

Yahoo Message Number: 33004
Hi Earl

Cummins Atlantic in Richmond, Va. said I had no fuel in engine oil- they check this by taking dip stick out and put a match to it until it burns and then smell the smoke- no fuel in oil- Didn't seem to me very great way to check- but I'm no mechanic-
My thought is at FlyingJ on the last oil change they showed me the dip stick to show it is OK- but they fill in from the top of engine and could it be that it take some time for ALL of it to get to dip stick-

Stan vander ploeg
#11556 Intrigue "03"

Re: Diesel in Oil

Reply #2
Yahoo Message Number: 33007
Hi Don

Yes it was checked cold eath time-

Stan vander ploeg
#11556 Intrigue "03"

Quote from: Don Seager
Stan,

Also, was the oil at the same temperature each time it was
checked? It expands quite a lot going from cold to hot.

>

I am curious as to putting a match to the stick. My 2004 Allure
ISL has a glued on plastic tip on the end of the dip stick so Cummins could not do that with mine. I assume that yours does not have the plastic tip. One dropped off the end of mine into the crankcase.
Hopefully it dropped out on the next oil change before getting ground up into who knows what. The replacement stick had the same stupid plastic tip.

>

Don Seager

2004 Allure 31046

Cummins Atlantic in Richmond, Va. said I had no fuel in engine

oil-

they check this by taking dip stick out and put a match to it

until it

burns and then smell the smoke- no fuel in oil- Didn't seem to me

very

great way to check- but I'm no mechanic- >

My thought is at FlyingJ on the last oil change they showed me

the dip

stick to show it is OK- but they fill in from the top of engine

and

could it be that it take some time for ALL of it to get to dip

stick-

Reply #3
Yahoo Message Number: 33008